Latest News

21 June 2017

The Meade King Cup

At the start of June a team of 28 King’s pupils took to the pool for the climactic event of the swimming season – the Meade King Cup.

This is the oldest unbroken competition between four schools (Taunton School, Wellington School, Queen’s College and King’s) in any sport, in the world, and has been a focus for our pupils’ training for a number of weeks. This year, it was the turn of King’s College to facilitate and host this prestigious event.

It was tense and exciting, with some thrilling races throughout the competition. Ryan Lui won his individual 50m freestyle in an exceptional time of 25.83, and the senior boys’ team (Ollie Piper, Ben Atal, TJ Haller and Jack Gibbs) put in an amazing effort to beat Taunton School in the medley relay race by the narrowest of margins.

All our swimmers performed superbly. The atmosphere and the camaraderie shown by our squad was impressive.

The final relays made for some great viewing, with tensions high and trophies at stake. The open girls’ team finished in 3rd position and the open boys (Ben Atal, TJ Haller, Cameron Rowe and Ryan Lui) swam their hearts out to finish achingly close – just 0.25 seconds behind Taunton School. The final cannon event saw King’s finish in 3rd place.

Overall our girls’ team finished in 4th place with a total of 18 points, but the boys surpassed many expectations and finished 2nd behind Taunton School. This is our highest placing for a number of years and underlines the growing strength of King’s swimming under the excellent guidance of Lyndsey Hollands.

We are incredibly proud of the achievements of our swimmers, not only this week for Meade King Cup, but throughout the swimming season.

The Meade King Cup team consisted of:

Ben Atal, Liv Banks, Charly Beak, Emma Beak, Mollie Beale, Millie Campbell-Smith, Lottie Cannons, Sam Cobb, Pheobe Cooper-Simpson, Marney Davies, Jack Gibbs, TJ Haller, Jen Iong, Elise Johnson-Rai, Emily Knill, Daneel Louw, Ryan Lui, Lucy MacGullivray, Joe Messenger, Christina NG, Ollie Piper, Cameron Rowe, George Small, Louis Stanbury, Liddy Thornhill, Mikhail Vtornkov, Sergei Vtornikov and Jimmy Yeung.

For the full results please click here.

Back to the top of the page