Latest News

12 May 2017

King's U15 Football Team are District Schools Winners

Our U15 boys made a strong start to this highly competitive final in front of a supportive crowd at Bishops Lydeard FC yesterday afternoon.

Facing a physical and skillful Heathfield side, King’s started on the front foot and took an early lead when pressure from James Candfield forced the keeper into an error and allowed him to finish from close range.

Heathfield leveled early in the second half before Candfield grabbed his second within five minutes when he out-jumped the defence and headed in from six yards.

King’s continued to be a threat in an end-to-end finish and could have increased their lead but for an outstanding response by the Heathfield goalkeeper and defenders who cleared their lines on at least three occasions.

With less than 30 seconds of normal time to go, a long range free kick was driven high and deep into the penalty area producing a fine double save from Tom Hall but Heathfield reacted first to the loose ball and forced the ball over the line and the game was tied.

Extra time saw King’s continue to create chances and produce some excellent football, but the added period finished goal less and so penalties loomed.

The game was won when Tom Hall, having converted a spot kick, then composed himself to pull off a fine second save.

This was an outstanding team performance and the culmination of a hard-fought campaign that sees King’s win its first ever District Schools title in any age group.

The entire team are to be congratulated, but the player of the match was Captain Joe Gill, who not only worked tirelessly in midfield covering all areas of the pitch in the process, but led his team throughout.

The team are:

  1. Tom Hall

  2. Thomas Flavin

  3. Matthew Harrison

  4. Alec Hayton

  5. Michael Link (Vice-Capt)
  6. Joseph Rutherford

  7. Joseph Gill (Capt)
  8. Louis Stanbury

  9. James Candfield

  10. George Adkinson

  11. William Brooke-Webb

  12. Reuben Lindsay-Smith

  13. Benjamin Luxton

  14. William Oxland

  15. Greg Perkins

  16. Joseph Messenger
Back to the top of the page