King's College, Taunton is a Woodard School and so part of the largest group of Church of England schools in England and Wales. This unique partnership is united by a determination to give priority to the Christian focus developed by Nathaniel Woodard between 1847 and 1891 when he founded ten schools.
King's College was founded as King Alfred's College School on 26 October 1880, the anniversary of the death of King Alfred. The roots of the school go back to Bishop Fox Grammar School in the town centre. This was founded in 1522 by the Bishop of Winchester, Richard Fox, a key figure in Henry VII's Privy Council. Bishop Fox had a pelican at the heart of his crest and that powerful symbol of the parent bird drawing its own blood and taking its own life to feed its children remained with the school (by 1867 called Taunton College School) when it was moved from its site in Corporation Street to South Road in 1869. In 1879 educational pioneer, Canon Nathaniel Woodard, bought the school and renamed it King's College.
A boys' school for 13-18 year olds, King's College initially became co-educational in 1968 with the introduction of 6th form girls. It is now a fully co-educational school.
Our archivist Mrs Alison Mason is always keen to hear from people who have school material or recollections that they wish to add to the school archives. For any queries, or donations to the archives please use the contact information below:
Mrs Alison Mason MArAd, RMARA
Taunton TA1 3LA
Tel: 01823 328238
Fax 01823 328202